Find an inventor, read about
Marie Curie, learn about animals... it's all right here! For health-related
science, go to our Health
page. Science-related jobs can be found on our Careers
and Jobs page. Or, use one of the Search
Services to find more sites on your own.
Animals, Birds and Insects
Animal Resources
-- sponsored by SeaWorld Education Dept.; the Animal Info Books and Animal Bytes
sections are great for homework projects on marine and other animals, or you can
have fun listening to the Animal Sounds Library
Butterflies and Moths of North America -- the best part of this site is the listing of butterflies
by state: click on "Map Search" and then on Pennsylvania from the map, and see a list of
butterflies that have been found in PA. Even better, select Schuylkill
County from the Pennsylvania map for an even more local listing! For each butterfly, you can see
one or pictures of it plus get a variety of information about it.
Cryptozoology -- "The scientific
study of hidden animals." This site has a glossary of terms and animals
in the cryptozoologic world, with links to articles about various "sightings"
and discoveries.
Endangered Species (EE-Link)
-- a one-stop site to find the latest news, laws, organizations, and facts about
endangered and extinct species
International Crane Foundation --
located in Wisconsin, this organization "works worldwide to conserve cranes
and the wetland and grassland ecosystems on which they depend." Check out
the "Species Guide" for pictures, facts, and a variety of maps
concerning cranes around the world.
National Wildlife Federation -- follow the
link to read Ranger Rick magazine, look up details on bears, antelope and
salmon, or find out what you can do to help our animal friends.
National Zoo -- This fantastic zoo
is located in Washington, DC; watch the pandas or tigers with the live webcams, or take a virtual tour of the zoo.
WildFinder -- Find out
where wildlife live, their status, and even pictures from this site put together
by the World Wildlife Fund.
Geology.com -- whether you are curious
about tsunamis, fascinated with volcanoes, terrified of earthquakes, or just
need a geology dictionary, this site has a variety resources about the earth
we live on
Volcanoes
-- publications and information from the US Geological Survey which you can read
online
Magazines
Discover Magazine -- "monthly
magazine of science and technology; their wonders, their uses, and their
impact upon our lives" (from Yahoo)
National Geographic
-- Whether you want to read articles from the print magazine, print out maps of
China, create your own hurricane, view photos from other countries, or plan an
adventure vacation, this site has a lot to offer!
Nature -- international
weekly journal of science; some articles require (free) registration; others
require a paid subscription
New Scientist -- This site
provides access to some of the articles from the print magazine, as well as a
collection of science and technology news stories from around the world.
Popular Science -- this magazine may be best
known for its look at the future and past of science and scientific discoveries.
Science News Online -- weekly
newsmagazine about science, with topics from prehistoric hurricanes to
the theraputic properties of chocolate
EarthSky -- web site for
a daily science radio series; shows are available in script form, and give
brief explanations of things in the science world, such as why we can see
the moon in the daytime and what happens to fish when lightning hits water
Facts
About Antarctica -- check here for facts about Antarctica's icebergs,
animals and weather, plus lots of photographs
How Stuff Works, Science
-- A huge collection of articles where you can learn how things like engines,
lightning, bridges, and water towers work. You can also find out about
computers, cars, and things around the house by clicking on the other tabs at
the top of the screen.
SciCentral -- links to recent
scientific discoveries published in online journals, in various fields
Science Club -- ideas
for projects, plus links to other sites with science fair project ideas
and fun science sites
Science.gov -- this site provides
one-stop searching for science-related publications and information from 14 federal
agencies, 45 databases, and over 2000 selected websites. Topics range from
biology to energy to health to agriculture.
Sea and Sky -- explore the sea
and its creatures, and the solar system and beyond
Webcams from the US Dept. of the
Interior -- Glacier National Park, Old Faithful, Mount Saint Helens,... these
are just a few of the webcams available to watch. Some automatically
update to catch moving events, others are more stationary. Explore
national parks from your home!
Web Elements -- The Periodic
Table on the WWW; click on an element in the periodic table for details
about that individual element
National Museum of Natural
History -- what's natural history, and why is it in the science
section? This museum features exhibits about the Arctic, the oceans,
volcanoes, giant squid, human cultures, and lots more.
NCDC
Storm Event database -- Do you know how many tornadoes have been sighted
in Schuylkill County since 1950? (11) Use
this database to find this kind of information for specific counties or
states.
The
Nine Eight Planets -- Since Pluto lost its status as a planet, we
now have 8 planets in our solar system; find out more about the remaining
planets, their moons, and other things in our area.
Solar
System -- collection of links on Yahoo relating to our solar system
The Weather Channel -- forecasts
for the United States and other countries, satellite images, and more
Your Sky -- enter your
latitude and longitude (or select Philadelphia, the nearest city), and
see a sky map for your area!