Go to the Search
page to find other history-related sites. For historical information related
to the Schuylkill County area, go to the Regional
page. For maps of countries, go to the Geography
and Travel page.
Last updated May 2, 2007.
History Sites
General History Sites
Best
of History Web Sites -- a guide to the best history sites on the Web;
divided into general areas, such as ancient/biblical times, medieval, 20th
century, etc, each web site is rated on a scale of 1 - 5 stars
From
Revolution to Reconstruction: A Hypertext on American History from
the colonial period until Modern Times; Note: may require Internet
Explorer 5.5 or newer browser
The HistoryNet
-- primarily covers United States history,
with other countries as they affected the United States; very good "Today
in History" feature and biographies of individuals as well
HyperHistory
-- world history site organized by timeline
Old
News -- read about events as they might have been told by newspapers
of the day, such as the sinking of the Titanic, Harriet Tubman's actions,
or the sacking of Rome in 1527
OSSHE
Historic Atlas Resource Library -- historic maps and atlases, produced
by departments of the University of Oregon; Note: may require
Internet Explorer 5.5 or newer browser
Today
in History -- What happened today in U.S. history? hosted by the Library
of Congress
Specific Subject History Sites
Africa and African-Americans
African
American Pamphlets Home Page -- collection of pamphlets including sermons,
biographies, speeches, legal documents, and poetry; from the mid-1800s
to the early 1900s
Black
Facts Online -- Visit daily for the "Black Facts that happened on ..."
feature, or search for facts by date and year
Images
of African Americans from the 19th Century -- collection presented
by The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of The New York Public
Library; search by topic or key words to find images on all aspects of
life
The
Underground Railroad -- Visit this site to learn about the Underground
Railroad, the Abolitionist movement, the Fugitive Slave Bill of 1850, and
biographies of key figures. Also features a map of the Underground Railroad!
(Note: this site is no longer maintained, so some links may not work.)
George
Ortiz Collection -- "an online version of a travelling exhibit of the
unique private collection of George Oritz, who has been gathering Greek,
Egyptian, Mesopotamian, and other artifacts for some 42 years."
The
Step Pyramid Complex of Djoser -- Djoser's Step Pyramid is generally
considered the first tomb in Egypt to be built entirely of stone; this
site gives you a tour and information about this particular pyramid
American
Memory from the Library of Congress -- lots of historical photographs,
early writings, and other information on the history of this country
Archiving Colonial
America -- type in what you want to know, and if the topic was covered
by newspapers from colonial times, the search engine will find it; good
for unusual topics
A
Chronology of US Historical Documents -- has the full text of various
documents including the Magna Carta, the First Thanksgiving Proclamation,
and the Declaration of Causes of seceding states around the time of the
Civil War
The
American Civil War Page -- collection of links with information about
the Civil War, including the small arms used, poetry, uniforms, flags,
etc.
The
48th Pennsylvania Veteran Volunteer Infantry -- This online journal looks at
some of the people involved and incidents involving the 48th PA Volunteers, many
of whom were from Schuylkill County
World
War I History -- Pathfinder produced by the Internet Public Library,
with links to excellent sites concerning the Great War
World War II
Holocaust
Denial on Trial -- This site provides the evidence and the transcript
of a trial that took place in England in 2000, when a writer/historian
sued a professor for libel. The professor won her case, proving that
the writer was a Holocaust denier, a neo-Nazi, and a distorter of historical
fact.
World
War II History -- Pathfinder produced by the Internet Public Library,
with links to excellent sites concerning the Second World War, the Holocaust,
etc.
World
War II on the Web -- collection of links on all theaters of operations,
as well as military units and the Holocaust
These sites have to do with genealogy, or the
tracing of your family history. The first listings are particularly relevant
to Schuylkill County genealogy searches. Note that many of them might have
the same or similar names; but, honest, these are all separate sites.
Census
Online: Links to Online Census Records for Pennsylvania - this
site lists free and for-fee census records for the state and individual
counties. Most of the links for Schuylkill County go to the Volunteer
Census Project (see below); you can find other states and countries here, too.
Civil
War Pennsylvania Volunteers -- transcribed records from Bates'
History of Pennsylvania Volunteers; primarily Schuylkill County volunteers
at this time, others may be added in the future
Pennsylvania
Vital Records Information -- home page for the office which
holds Pennsylvania birth and death certificates from 1906 on; order form
and fees are both available
Schuylkill
County PAGenWeb -- a huge site that includes the Archive Index
and Census Project; may be THE best site for researching Schuylkill County
genealogy!
Schuylkill
County Volunteer Census Project -- a project to make all of
the census records for Schuylkill County available via the internet for
future (and current!) genealogy researchers; if you're interested and able,
they are looking for additional volunteers to transcribe the records
Social
Security Death Index -- type in a first and last name; database may
include deaths that occurred 2-3 months ago.
The
War Years Index, Pottsville Republican 1939-1945 -- everyname
index of the publication; index entries also correspond with newspaper
dates, page numbers and column numbers
Ancestry.com -- genealogy databases, some subscription-only; includes the Social
Security Death Index, some marriage records, and more
Cyndi's
List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet -- absolutely enormous collection
of links to just about any kind of genealogy-related website you might
be looking for! Topical indexes include societies, surname associations,
records, ethnic groups, etc.
FamilySearch
Internet Genealogy Service -- website for The Church of Jesus Christ
of Latter-day Saints; get started by finding the nearest Family History
Center (note: there are centers in Allentown, Reading and Harrisburg),
or make use of online resources
GENUKI
-- Genealogy in the United Kingdom and Ireland; reference source that includes
primary materials, finding aids and guides, with links to important British
genealogical societies
Lithuanian
Global Genealogical Society Online Databases -- check out this site for a
large number of Lithuanian cemeteries, surnames, vital records, and other
databases crucial to genealogical research. Includes several resources for
Schuylkill County.
ProGenealogists
Genealogy Sleuth -- HUGE collection of links for genealogy research
in practically every state; note that some sites listed are subscription
services
ROOTS-L
Library -- collection of links to a wide variety of genealogical web
sites, including an excellent "Beginning Genealogy" feature