Adolescence
Directory On-Line -- a guide to information on adolescent issues, including
violence, mental and physical health
AMA
Adolescent Health -- this site provides information on health issues like
bullying and violence, tobacco use, and mental health for teens
Best
Hospitals in America -- rankings are published by US News and World
Report, and list the top 50 hospitals for 17 different specialties, from
cancer to urology
familydoctor.org
-- "Health information for the whole family from the American Academy of
Family Physicians;" includes alternative medicine, family doctor websites,
drug information, and a dictionary
Go Ask Alice! -- an
excellent question-and-answer service provided by the Health Education
Program of the Columbia University Health Service for every age group; check out the answers
to questions already asked, or ask your own
Health
and Age Center -- aging-related health information from the Novartis
Foundation for Gerontology
Healthfinder
-- health information from the Department of Health and Human Services
HealthSquare
-- health and prescription drug reference for women and their families; includes
a guide to prescription drugs and an encyclopedia of medicine
Injury Prevention
-- a helpful site from the Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, this resource
helps kids understand what to do to be safe when they're playing, and provides
helpful tips for parents. Check out the Home
Safety Handbook, written for parents of newborns through preschool
age children.
Mayo Health
Oasis: information on diseases, alternative medicine treatments, a
drug index for prescription and over-the-counter drugs, and more, all from
a reliable source
Medicare
-- The Official US Government Site for Medicare
Medlineplus
-- once just a large journal index, this site now provides recent health-related
news, a free medical encyclopedia and dictionary, and information about
prescription drugs and other supplements.
Medscape -- "The Web's largest
collection of free, full-text clinical medicine articles" plus daily news
and other information, tailored for health professionals but usable by
the general public; registration is required, but is free
The
Nature of Things: A Look at Pain -- The "about pain" section discusses
why we feel pain, different types of pain, and how pain is treated; while
the "living with pain" features an interview with a woman who suffers from
fibromyalgia. Note that the interviews require both video and sound
capabilities on your computer.
Virtual Hospital
-- created by the University of Iowa Health Care; designed as a "medical
reference and health promotion tool for health care providers and patients."
WebMD -- This site
has all kinds of A-Z guides, resource centers, and a symptom checker; it also
suggests when you should see your doctor or head straight to the emergency room.
Women's
Health -- produced by the New York Times, this site is like a special
section in the newspaper: articles written by their reporters, but with
good information from experts
The Cool Spot
-- Aimed at young teens and preteens, this interactive site looks at some of the
myths and facts about alcohol, as well as how to say "no" to peer
pressure.
Health
Consequences of Smoking: A Report of the Surgeon General -- Read the latest
report concerning smoking, including its relationship to cancer, cardiovascular
and respiratory disease, and other health problems. (Some pages require
Adobe Acrobat.)
Herbal
Safety -- What over-the-counter medications should you NOT take with
ginkgo? Are there medicinal uses for pumpkin seeds? Find the answers
to these questions from an objective site devoted to herbal medicine.
Medicinal
and Culinary herbFAQs -- frequently asked questions about herbs [Note
that the site now has a personal name, but still has the same information it had
before. -- 11/28/06]
National Center
for Complementary and Alternative Medicine -- part of the National
Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Health and Human Services; created
to support "rigorous research" in complementary and alternative medicine
Quackwatch:
"Your Guide to Quackery, Health Fraud, and Intelligent Decisions" --
run by a retired doctor, this site focuses on non-traditional medicine and helps
you identify the warning signs of hoaxes and fraud. For more information
about who's behind the site, check out the "Who
Funds Quackwatch?" and "Frequently
Asked Questions" pages.
Cancer
American Cancer Society -- this
site includes statistical information as well as complementary and alternative
methods of treating cancer, among other subjects
CancerTrials -- from
the National Cancer Institute, current information about cancer research
studies
Oncolink -- University of Pennsylvania
Cancer Center; a large collection of information on types of cancer, treatments,
coping, causes, and more
Understanding Cancer
-- this site uses slide show tutorials to explain cancer and cancer-related
subjects, in everyday English. Tutorials can also be downloaded as Power
Point files or PDF files.
AIDSinfo -- information from the US
Dept. of Health and Human Services, including treatments, clinical trials,
prescription drugs, and general educational materials
AIDSmap -- information about drug
regimes and treatments, symptoms, HIV/AIDS news, and other important (and
difficult to find!) information
American Social Health Association
-- the mission is to "stop sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) and their
harmful consequences to individuals, families, and communities."
Tips for Teens: The Truth
About AIDS -- from the US Dept. of Health and Human Services and the
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, this site offers brief
but important facts, signs to watch for, and access to a variety of publications
to help teens make better choices
American Foundation for Suicide
Prevention -- Check out this site for facts about suicide, warning signs,
and what you can do to prevent suicide. You can also find information
about national and local events, suicide research, and more.
CampusBlues.com -- intended to help
new college students and their parents deal with the stress and strain of
college. Articles on ADHD, stress, college myths and facts, and others are
all worth checking out!
American Dietetic Association's Good
Nutrition Reading List -- most of the links on this page are to order
the books, but you can also check the Pottsville
Library's catalog to see if we have them in our collection; or we can
request books from other libraries for you if the book is more than 6
months old.
Pennsylvania Department of Health, Division
of School Health -- information for parents and students about health
programs at public schools
Pennsylvania Department of Health, Nutrition
and Health -- general information on nutrition guidelines, activities, and
other resources; also check out the links to other areas, such as family health
and smoking cessation aids.
Pennsylvania
Dietetic Association -- use this page to find a Nutrition Professional, or
check out the "Resource Center" for child, teen, and general nutrition
information
Websites covering other specific diseases and conditions will be added
as we identify them.
American Diabetes Association
-- find recipes, exercise ideas, updates on the latest research, plus sections
just for teens and younger kids.
American Pain Foundation --
information for people who suffer from chronic pain. Take a look at the
"Pain Information Library" and "Q&A About Pain" sections
for help understanding chronic pain and what can be done about it.
Internet Stroke Center --
stroke information for patients, families and health professionals, as
well as a directory of stroke trials
Learn CPR: You Can Do It!
-- this site shows a simplified form of CPR, including video demonstrations, for
adults, children, and even pets
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute Diseases
and Conditions Index -- find information for everything from aneurysms to
varicose veins, from sleep apnea to asthma, and other related diseases.
Consumer Reports Best Buy Drugs
-- this free site gives you information about safety and cost-effective options
for some commonly used prescription drugs, which you can use when talking with
your doctor. Drug reports are currently available for NSAIDs, statins,
medications for asthma and ADHD, and many others with more to come in the
future.
FDA's CDER (Center for Drug Evaluation
and Research) -- get the facts about the newest drugs, including information
labels (which list side effects and other information from the clinical trials)
Independent Drug
Information Service Clinical Topics -- "The Independent Drug
Information Service provides an accurate, up-to-date synthesis of relevant
drug information in a non-biased format." Sponsored by Pennsylvania's
PACE program, this site gives both summary and extensive information about
topics like NSAIDs vs. cox-2 inhibitors, or prescription heartburn
treatments. This site is fairly new; more information should be added in
the future.
RXmed:
Prescribing Information -- the same drug information you'd find in
the Physician's Desk Reference book or get from your pharmacist
Stress
APA Help Center: Health
& Emotional Wellness -- This site from the American Psychological
Association provides several articles on identifying and dealing with stress, as
well as a number of other mental health issues.
National Center for Post Traumatic Stress
Disorder -- Part of the Veterans Administration, this organization provides
fact sheets and other resources, both generally and for specific events such as
the Iraq war and recent natural disasters.