National Animal Interest Alliance -- mission is "to promote a more abundant life for all the people
of this planet through a wise and compassionate human relationship with
animals and the environment."
Common Errors in English
Usage -- not really a dictionary, this list helps you avoid some of
the common mistakes people make when writing or speaking American English;
for example, learn the difference between "accede" and "exceed", or the
use of redundancies.
The Devil's Dictionary
-- if you prefer your definitions to be verbose and unusual, check out
this site which defines an auctioneer as "the man who proclaims with a
hammer that he has picked a pocket with his tongue." Based on a book first
published in 1906.
OneLook Dictionaries -- find definitions
or translations in hundreds of dictionaries
Wiktionary -- "a collaborative
project to produce a free, multilingual dictionary with definitions,
etymologies, pronunciations, sample quotations, synonyms, antonyms and
translations"
yourDictionary.com -- subject
dictionaries, foreign languages, thesauri and even a translation feature; also
has word games at the bottom of the home page
Encyclopedias
Britannica.com -- current news
topics as well as the expected encyclopedia; some parts may require subscription
The online Catholic Encyclopedia
-- a volunteer effort to put the original 1913 edition of the Catholic
Encyclopedia onto the internet
Encyclopedia.com -- a free online
encyclopedia with articles from reliable reference sources: covers over
100 encyclopedias and dictionaries!
Wikipedia -- a free online encyclopedia
with nearly 2 million entries in English and counting; note that articles can be
written and edited by anyone, anywhere in the world: readers should verify
information by checking another source
General Reference Materials
Bartleby Library -- Great Books
Online; find titles like a translation of The Odysseys of Homer, poetry
by T. S. Eliot and Robert Frost, a definition from a dictionary or an entry
from an encyclopedia
Old Farmer's Almanac -- has only
some of the information available from the print edition; registration or
purchase may be required for some sections
Simpson's Contemporary Quotations,
The Most Notable Quotations 1950-1988 -- more than 10,000 quotations, from
people like Henry Kissinger and Frank Sinatra
The Writing Center at the
University of Wisconsin-Madison -- Not sure how to write your paper or cite your
sources? Guidelines for APA and MLA styles, how to write common types of
assignments, and how to improve your writing can all be found here.
Ye Olde English
Sayings -- ever wonder why people say "mind your own beeswax"? Check
here for some of the answers...
Name, Address, and Telephone Directories
See also the Business page for other name and address
directories. Note that most directories take their listings from telephone
listings. Different directories will likely have different information,
and unlisted telephone numbers and addresses will probably not be found online.
SuperPages.com -- Click on
"People Pages" for options to do reverse searches by telephone
number or by address.
Switchboard -- In addition to
the other standard search options, you can also search by toll free number.
White Pages Phone Directory --
this site is good for reverse searches for people, either by phone number or
by street address
Yellow Book -- in addition to
the usual search options, you can also browse a specific directory (like
Allentown or Reading) for the business or type of business you seek; use the
"Results Found In" links to narrow your search.
Search Services
About.com -- more than just a search
engine, this site is also an excellent subject guide to the internet; each
section is run by a "guide" who keeps on top of the latest news,
best sites, etc. for that particular subject
All the Web -- this site aims
to index the entire Web, including web pages, documents, and PDF files.
Alta Vista -- Very
comprehensive search service; also includes Babel Fish, which can translate
words, phrases or entire webpages.
Ask.com -- What appears to be a very
basic search screen leads to options to expand or narrow your search.
Spelling corrections are made automatically when possible. This
revamped service has received rave reviews lately!
Google -- Beyond just a search
service, Google now provides access to maps and directions, email accounts,
news stories, and just about anything else you can think of. Check out
their list of services at More
Google Products.
Ixquick Metasearch -- claims to
be the most powerful metasearch engine on the internet; searches many
different search engines at once to find results
Yahoo -- excellent for looking up
companies and basic information; also a fairly good subject guide
Statistics
Census Bureau -- Check here for fun
facts related to holidays; population data for the nation, states, counties and
cities; and economic statistics. Type in your zip code in the
"Population Finder" on the home page and find an entire fact sheet
about your community.
FedStats -- the best place to
look for federal statistics on almost any topic
InfoNation
-- statistical databases on the 185 UN member countries, which allow you to
create your own comparisons between countries; go to the Cyberschoolbus
home page for more resources about countries, hunger, poverty, human rights, and
much more.
National Transporation
Statistics -- "National Transportation Statistics presents
statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components,
safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and
national security. This is a large online document comprising more than
260 data tables plus data source and accuracy statements, glossary and a list of
acronyms and initialisms."
Pennsylvania State Data Center
PA Stats-- a good place to start for general statistics related to
Pennsylvania
Internet Public Library -- one of the
first true virtual libraries; good collections for all ages, and in most
subjects; their Pathfinder guides
provide good starting points for many different types of searches
Librarian's Index to the Internet --
more than 20,000 Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians,
divided into 14 main topics and nearly 300 related topics.
LibrarySpot -- for
information on everything from how to write a paper to acronyms to virtual
tours, this is one of the best places to go for help