







Indexes or Subject Guides:
Agency
Publications Indexes -- links to agency indexes, provided by GPO Access
Browse
Topics -- alphabetical list of subjects, with links to appropriate
government agencies
USA.gov
Reference Center -- travel warnings, maps, statistics, laws, historical
documents: a wide variety of resources are available from this page,
making it a great first stop for government data
Publications:
ADA/ABA Accessibility
Guidelines Homepage -- Looking for Americans With Disabilities Act
Guidelines? Start here first! This page links to the guidelines, as
well as comparisons with the International Building Code and the National Fire
Protection Administration codes.
Agricultural
Statistics -- Dept. of Agriculture; current and previous years (back
to 1994); Ref 338.109 Un3
Airman
-- magazine of America's Air Force
All
Hands -- U.S. Navy; monthly magazine, with issues back to 1922!
Alzheimer's
Disease Publications -- National Institute on Aging, Alzheimer's Disease
Education and Referral Center; free publications can be read on the site,
others must be purchased
Amber Waves --
Dept. of Agriculture; "The Economics of Food, Farming, Natural Resources
and Rural America"
American
Factfinder -- Census Bureau; an excellent starting point for population,
housing, economic and geographic statistics, including the latest 2000
figures!
American
Housing Survey -- "data on the Nation's housing" from the Dept. of
Housing and Urban Development
American
Memory : Historical Collections for the National Digital Library --
Library of Congress
Are
You Ready? A guide to citizen preparedness
Background
Notes -- published by the Dept. of State; provides information on countries
and international organizations; Ref
910.5 D44
Ben's
Guide to U.S. Government for Kids -- good for all ages as a basic introduction
to how our federal government is set up and how it works.
Budget and Economic Outlook -- Congressional Budget Office; Ref
352.5309 B859U
Budget
of the United States Government -- Fiscal Year 1997 forward; Ref
351.7222 UN3b
Bureau
of Justice Statistics publications
Buying
a Safer Car -- National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration; annual publication that provides information about child
safety seats and new car safety features, as well as danger areas and things
to keep in mind when buying a car.
Catalog of
Federal Domestic Assistance
-- Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide
assistance or benefits to the American public; Ref
353.002 C28
Census
Briefs -- short reports that give statistics for such topics as the
number of people aged 65 and over, women, the Rust Belt and many other
subjects
Census
of Agriculture -- statistical information for "every place from which
$1,000 or more of agricultural products were produced and sold;" published
every five years
Children's Bureau
-- publications include "How To Report Suspected Abuse"
and "Child Maltreatment: Reports from the States to the National Child
Abuse and Neglect Data Systems"
Chronic
Disease Notes and Reports -- newsletter of the National Center for
Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
CIA
Publications and Handbooks -- includes the World Fact Book and others
Code
of Federal Regulations -- Ref 348.7323
Un3c
Community
Health Status Indicators Report -- health information by county
Compensation
and Working Conditions -- Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics,
issues back to June 1996
Condition of Education
-- publications and information from the National Center for Education
Statistics Ref 370.973 C752
Congressional
Directory -- compiled under the direction of the Joint Committee on
Printing; Ref 328.73 Un3
Congressional
Record -- online version provided by GPO Access
Constitution
of the United States -- with analysis and commentary, 1994 and 1996;
Ref
342.73 Un3
Consumer
Action Handbook -- formerly Consumer's Resource Handbook; Federal Consumer
Information Center; Ref 381.34 C766
Consumer
Price Index -- Dept. of Commerce; also considered the "cost of living"
index; check out the Inflation Calculator!
Consumer
Product Safety Review -- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission; issues
back to Summer 1996
Core
Documents of U.S. Democracy: An Electronic Collection -- "These titles
contain information which is vital to the democratic process and critical
to an informed electorate. They support the public's right to know about
the essential activities of their Government."
Current Industrial Reports, Manufacturing
and Mineral Industries -- information is collected every 5 years
Current
Population Reports -- U.S. Census Bureau; click on "Document" to view
files;
Daily
Treasury Statements -- Dept. of the Treasury Financial Management Service;
Annual
Defense Report -- annual reports from the Dept. of Defense to the President
and Congress; online reports go back to 1995
DOE
Information Bridge -- "free and convenient access to full-text and
bibliographic records of Dept. of Energy (DOE) research and development
reports"
Diplomatic List --
"This publication covers foreign missions (embassies, interest sections) in
the United States. It contains the names of members of the diplomatic staffs of
these missions and their spouses."
Early
Identification of Risk Factors for Parental Abduction -- prepared by
the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, U.S. Department
of Justice
Earthquakes
In and Near the Northeastern United States, 1638-1998 -- published
by the US Geological Survey (note: huge file!!!)
Economic
Indicators -- here you can find monthly figures for the Gross Domestic
Product, employment rates, price indexes, and the federal debt; also available
at OMB Watch
Economic
Report of the President -- Ref 330.973
UN3e
Dept. of Education Annual
Reports -- includes Condition
of Education and Digest
of Education Statistics, among other titles
Emerging
Infectious Diseases -- tracks and analyzes disease trends, such as
the West Nile Virus and hospital infections
Environmental
Health Perspectives -- monthly publication of the Environmental Health
Information Service, with articles about such topics as air pollution,
health hazards in the workplace, and the safety of drinking water
Export
Administration Regulations -- Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Export Administration;
Ref
343.73 Un3e
Export America
-- official magazine of the International Trade Administration with "practical
export advice ... for small and medium-sized exporters."
FAFSA
-- Free Application for Federal Student Aid; fill out the form online,
or print out a form to mail in; NOTE: this site may require Internet
Explorer 5.5 or higher due to security requirements
Farmer's Markets
Listed by State -- This site lists farmer's markets around the
country. Maybe there are some in your area you didn't know about!
FedBizOpps
-- click on FedBizOpps Vendors for a list of federal agencies that are
looking for various goods and services; previously known as "Commerce Business
Daily" or "CBDNet"
Federal
Citizen Information Center -- Who sells property forfeited to federal
law enforcement? Is it safe to shop online? Where can I get
a list of the National Parks? How can I protect myself while I travel?
FDA
Consumer -- Food and Drug Administration monthly magazine; good information
on getting and staying healthy!
Federal
Register -- "the official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules,
and Notices of Federal agencies and
organizations, as well as Executive Orders
and other Presidential Documents." GD
- microfiche
Foreign
Consular Offices in the United States -- State Dept.; consulate offices
by state.
Fuel
Economy Guide -- compare fuel efficiency, emissions, and safety information
for new vehicles; Ref 629.253 F952
Health,
United States -- National Center for Health Statistics; the 2000 edition
is currently available, as well as previous issues; Ref
362.1 N213
Health
Consequences of Smoking: A Report of the Surgeon General -- Read the latest
report concerning smoking, including its relationship to cancer, cardiovascular
and respiratory disease, and other health problems. (Some pages require
Adobe Acrobat.)
Highway
Traffic Noise in the U.S.; Problem and Response -- published by the
US Dept. of Transportation
Hispanic
Population of the United States -- annual statistics and estimates
from the "Current Population Survey" -- does not include Puerto Rico
Historical Decennial
Census Records -- Genealogists will want to keep an eye on this site.
The Census Bureau has scanned historical census records and loaded them as PDF
files. Additional files should be added as they become available.
Humanities
-- magazine; published by the National Endowment for the Humanities; GDM
ID
Theft: When bad things happen to your good name -- Federal Trade
Commission; large file in .pdf format
International
Energy Annual -- Energy Information Administration; prices, production,
and other information related to the various forms of energy, including
petroleum, coal and natural gas
Job
Safety and Health Quarterly (JS&HQ) -- magazine; published by the
US Dept. of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration; GDM
Joint
Inquiry Into Intelligence Community Activities Before and After the Terrorist
Attacks of September 11, 2001 (Congressional Reports)
Journal
of Rehabilitation Research and Development -- Veterans Association
Rehabilitation Research and Development Service
Journal
of Transportation and Statistics -- Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Kidney disease publications from the National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Mail Manuals
-- home page for both the International and Domestic Mail Manuals, published
by the US Postal Service; Ref 383.4973 Un3i
Marines
-- U.S. Marine Corps; monthly magazine; GDM
Medical
Tests for Prostate Problems
Minerals
Yearbook -- US Geologic Survey, Mineral Resources Program; Ref
338.2 Un3
Monthly
Energy Review -- statistics on national energy production, use, fuels
and more
Monthly
Labor Review -- statistical information concerning jobs and the job
market
Monthly
Statement of the Public Debt -- Bureau of the Public Debt; historical
data is also available
Monthly
Treasury Statement of Receipts and Outlays of the U.S. Government --
Dept. of the Treasury; GD
NAICS
and SIC Correspondence Tables -- convert SIC codes to NAICS and vice
versa
National
Atlas of the U.S. -- create your own map of the United States, showing
such things as the locations of Superfund sites, abandoned coal mine areas,
or other details
National Cancer Institute Cancer
Information -- everything from types of cancer to statistics and clinical
trial information
National Commission on Terrorist
Attacks Upon the U.S. -- the commission "is chartered to prepare a full
and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11, 2001
terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the
attacks."
National
Compensation Survey -- Pennsylvania; Bureau of Labor Statistics
National
Diabetes Information Clearinghouse -- "an information dissemination
service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney
Diseases"
National
Register of Historic Places -- bulletins and brochures
National
Survey on Drug Use and Health -- information on drug use by young and old; Ref
362.29 N213
National
Truck Crash Profile -- "summarized crash results for large trucks involved
in fatal and non-fatal crashes that occurred in the United States"
Naval
Aviation News -- current and back issues; published by the Naval Historical
Center
New
Electronic Titles -- looking for a publication that used to be in print?
Check here to see if it's gone online
9-11 Commission's Final
Report -- Read the complete, official report from this website. Each
chapter is available as a PDF file (which means you will need Adobe Acrobat to
read it), or you can download the entire report in one large file. This
title will also be available in print here at the Pottsville Library.
Occupational
Outlook Handbook -- THE place to look for information on what the prospects
are for jobs in various careers and fields; Ref
331.7 Un3
Occupational
Outlook Quarterly -- Dept. of Labor; GDM
O-NET* -- What occupation
is right for you? What does that job require?
Parent's
Guide to Internet Safety -- FBI and the National Center for Missing
and Exploited Children
Patents:
General
Information -- a manual that describes what patents are, who can get one,
and how to do the research
Patterns
of Global Terrorism -- Dept. of State; click on the link on the right
side of the screen; Ref 303.62 P277
Pennsylvania
Code Online -- rules that have the force of law in Pennsylvania
The Plum
Book -- a.k.a. US Government Policy and Supporting Positions
Presidential
Directives and Executive Orders -- includes directives from Presidents
Truman through Clinton
Producer
Price Indexes -- Bureau of Labor Statistics; GDM
Public
Laws -- a collection of federal laws enacted from 1995 (104th Congress)
through the present; GD
Public
Papers of the Presidents of the United States -- includes speeches,
communications to Congress, bill signings, and more; currenly only President
Clinton's papers are available here; Ref 353.035
Un3
Public
Roads -- GDM
Regulations.gov -- use
this site to find, review and submit comments on Federal documents that
are open for comment and published in the Federal Register.
Report of
the Select Committee on Intelligence on the U.S. Intelligence Community's Prewar
Intelligence Assessments on Iraq -- Download the full report, or view
individual chapters of this official report. Adobe Acrobat is required to
read this report.
Rural
America -- USDA Economic Research Service; articles focus on the history
and value of rural life in the United States; will include the statistical
information formerly found in Rural Conditions and Trends
Sales Product
Catalog -- U.S. Government Online Bookstore; "the official online bookstore
for U.S. Government publications available for purchase from the U.S. Government
Printing Office." See also the Subject
Bibliographies for titles available for sale, arranged by subject
School
Enrollment in the United States: Social and Economic Charateristics
of Students
Science.gov: FirstGov for Science -- If you
have a question remotely involving science, start here! This site allows you to
search through federal publications, including research and development by U.S.
government agencies.
SIC
Codes (Standard Industrial Classification); Ref
338 Un3s
Small Business Administration Publications
-- everything from starting to managing a small business; VF
Social Security Benefit
Information Publications -- short, factual information about benefits,
the Supplemental Security Income program, and a whole lot more
Social
Security Handbook -- the complete manual is available here, but in
very large files.
Sourcebook
of Criminal Justice Statistics -- Dept. of Justice and the Utilization
of Criminal Justice
Statistics Project; "data from more than 100
sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States;" Ref
364 Un3
STAT-USA
-- Economics and Statistics Administration, Dept. of Commerce; requires
a password, see Reference Librarian for assistance
State and County Quick
Facts -- Just want the basic facts on how many people live someplace? Find
statistics for people, businesses and geography here. If you want more details,
just click on the link to "Browse data sets for ______."
Statistical
Abstract of the United States -- an enormous amount of statistical
information on social and economic conditions in the U.S. Ref
317.3 Un3
Statistical
Highlights of U.S. Agriculture -- highlights are available for 1995/96
through 2004/05.
Student
Financial Aid Handbook -- the most recent handbooks available from
the U.S. Department of Education
The
Student Guide -- "the most comprehensive resource on student financial
aid from the U.S. Department of Education"
Surgeon General's Report: Women
and Smoking 2001 -- fact sheets, summary and complete report on the
leading killer of American women
Survey
of Current Business -- Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis;
issues back to January 1998; GDM
Teacher
Use of Computers and the Internet in Public Schools -- National Center
for Education Statistics
Title
IV School Code Search -- Dept. of Education; Ref
378.3 T535
Toxic Release
Inventory -- EPA; information on "toxic chemicals that are being used,
manufactured, treated, transported, or released into the environment;"
Trademarks:
Basic Facts -- what they are and how to register
Traffic
Safety Digest -- find out what programs are being used in different states
to reduce traffic accidents, injuries, and incidents
Uniform
Crime Reports -- Federal Bureau of Investigation; Ref
364.1 Un3u
Urinary
Incontinence in Women
US
Code -- prepared and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel,
U.S. House of Representatives
US
Congress -- index page for a wide variety of congressional committee publications
US
Crude Oil, Natural Gas, and Natural Gas Liquids Reserves Annual Report
-- Energy Information Administration; reports back to 1996
US
Government Manual -- editions go back to 1995-96; "comprehensive information
on the agencies of the legislative, judicial and executive branches"; Ref
353 Un3
United
States Reports -- US Supreme Court; "the materials collected here contain
not just opinions, but the full text, from cover through index, of bound
volumes 502 et seq., including all of the opinions, orders, and other materials
issued for the Court's 1991 Term and subsequent years."
US Supreme
Court Database -- opinions from 1967 to the present, with some back
to 1793
US
Supreme Court Decisions -- 1990 to the present, some pre-1990 decisions
Update
on the Cycle of Violence -- update to results gathered in 1988, on
childhood victimization; published 2001
Veteran's Employment and Training Service Fact Sheets -- These guides explain the basics of what services are available to veterans through the U.S. Dept. of Labor.
Weekly
Compilation of Presidential Documents
What
You Should Know About Low Vision
When
Your Child is Missing: A Family Survival Guide
WIC
Program: Published Studies and Summaries --
Women's
Bureau Publications -- Department of Labor; includes "Facts on Working
Women"
World
Leaders (formerly "Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign
Governments") -- CIA; Ref
351.003 C434
This page updated August 1, 2007.
Arts | Business | Careers | Consumer Information | Education | Fun Stuff | General Reference | Geography & Travel | Government | Government Publications | Health | History & Genealogy | Magazines & Newspapers | Regional Information | Science | Search Services | Sports | Teen Page