Legislative Directory

Who represents you and how do you contact them?  Check the list below for your elected representatives at the federal, state, county, and City of Pottsville level.  Names and addresses were last checked April 2014.

United States Government

The President 
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW 
Washington, D.C.  20500-0001
Phone: (202) 456-1414
Fax:  (202) 456-2461
Web:  www.whitehouse.gov
The Vice President
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, D.C. 20500-0003
Phone:  (202) 456-2326

United States Senate:
The Honorable Robert P. Casey  (D)
393 Russell Senate Office Building             or 
Washington, D.C.  20510
Phone: (202) 224-6324
Toll Free:  (866) 802-2833

Fax:  (202) 228-0604 
Web:  casey.senate.gov
22 S. Third St, Suite 6A
Harrisburg, PA  17101
Phone:  (717) 231-7540
Toll Free:  (866) 461-9159

Fax:  (717) 231-7542

The Honorable Patrick J. Toomey  (R)
248 Russell Senate Office Building                   or 
Washington, D.C.  20510
Phone: (202) 224-4254 
Fax:  (202) 228-0284 
Web:  toomey.senate.gov
228 Walnut Street, Suite 1104
Harrisburg, PA  17101
Phone:  (717) 782-3951
Fax:  (717) 782-4920

Letter Salutation:  Dear Senator Toomey,              Letter Closing:  Sincerely yours,

United States House of Representatives:  17th District
The Honorable Matthew Cartwright  (D)
U.S. House of Representatives                     or
1419 Longworth Building
Washington, D.C.  20515
Phone: (202) 225-5546
Web:  cartwright.house.gov
121 Progress Ave, Suite 310
Pottsville, PA  17901
Phone: (570) 624-0140


Letter Salutation: Dear Mr. Cartwright,                      Letter Closing:  Sincerely yours,

Pennsylvania State Government

Pennsylvania Governor:
The Honorable Tom Corbett (R)
Governor of Pennsylvania
225 Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA  17120
Phone: (717) 787-2500
Fax: (717) 772-8284

Web:  www.governor.state.pa.us

Letter Salutation:
      Dear Governor Corbett,
Letter Closing:   Sincerely yours,

Pennsylvania Lieutenant Governor:
The Honorable Jim Cawley (R)
Lieutenant Governor of Pennsylvania
200 Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, PA  17120
Phone: (717) 787-3300
Fax: (717) 783-0150
Web: www.ltgovernor.state.pa.us

Letter Salutation:
     Dear Lieutenant Governor Cawley,
Letter Closing: Sincerely yours,

Pennsylvania Senate:  29th State Senatorial District -- The Honorable David G. Argall (R)
Senate Box 203029                                       or 
16E Main Capitol Building

Harrisburg, PA  17120-3029
Phone: (717) 787-2637
Fax:  (717) 783-8657
Web:  www.senatorargall.com/

TTY: 1-800-364-1581
100 N. Centre Street
Pottsville, PA  17901

Phone: (570) 621-3400
Fax:  (570) 622-6629

Mahanoy City Office:
     (570) 773-0891
TF:  1-877-327-4255

Pennsylvania House of Representatives:

123rd State House District -- The Honorable Neal P. Goodman  (D)
512E Main Capitol                                          or 
PO Box 202123
Harrisburg, PA  17120-2123

Phone: (717) 787-2798 
Web:  www.pahouse.com/goodman/
39 W Centre St.
PO Box 66

Mahanoy City, PA  17948-0066
Phone: (570) 773-3075
Fax:  (570) 773-3105

St. Clair Office:
     (570) 429-1222

124th State House District -- The Honorable Jerry Knowles (R)
155 A East Wing                                            or
PO Box 202124
Harrisburg, PA  17120-2124
Phone: (717) 787-9029
Fax: (717) 782-2908
TTY: 1-855-282-0614
Web:  repknowles.com
237 W Broad St.
Tamaqua, PA  18252
Phone: (570) 668-1240
Fax: (570) 952-3374


125th State House District -- The Honorable Mike Tobash  (R)
4-B East Wing                                                 or
PO Box 202125

Harrisburg, PA  17120-2125
Phone: (717) 260-6148
Web:  www.reptobash.com
Email: mtobash@pahouse.gop.com
988 E. Main St.
Schuylkill Haven, PA  17972
Phone: (570) 385-8235
TF: 1-855-271-9384


Letter Salutations for all Pennsylvania Senate and House of Representative members:
 Dear Mr. <last name>,

Letter Closings for all Pennsylvania Senate and House of Representative members:
 Sincerely yours,

123rd District covers:  County Schuylkill; City Pottsville (part: Wards 5 & 6);  Townships Blythe, Branch, Butler (part: Englewood, Fountain Springs & northeast), Cass, Delano, East Norwegian, Foster, Mahanoy, New Castle, Norwegian, Reilly, Ryan and West Mahanoy; Boroughs Ashland, Frackville, Gilberton, Girardville, Gordon, Mahanoy City, Middleport, Minersville, New Philadelphia, Palo Alto, Port Carbon, Shenandoah, and St. Clair.

124th District covers:  Counties Berks and Schuylkill; Townships East Brunswick, East Union, Kline, North Union, Rush, Schuylkill, Union, Walker, West Brunswick and West Penn; Boroughs Coaldale, Deer Lake, McAdoo, New Ringgold, Orwigsburg, Port Clinton, Ringtown and Tamaqua.  (Berks County townships and boroughs not listed.)

125th District covers: Counties Berks and Schuylkill; City Pottsville (part: Wards 1, 2, 3, 4, & 7); Townships Barry,  Butler (part: Lavelle), Eldred, Frailey, Hegins, Hubley, North Manheim, Pine Grove, Porter, South Manheim, Tremont, Upper Mahantongo, Washington and Wayne townships; Boroughs Auburn, Cressona, Landingville, Mechanicsville, Mount Carbon, Pine Grove, Schuylkill Haven, Tower City and Tremont. (Berks County townships and boroughs not listed.)

Residents of areas that are split by districts may want to contact the Schuylkill County Voter Registration Office (570-628-1467) to verify their district.

Schuylkill County Government

Schuylkill County Court House
401 N. Second Street
Pottsville, PA  17901
Phone: 570-622-5570
Fax: 570-628-1210
Web:  www.co.schuylkill.pa.us/

Schuylkill County Commissioners:
Frank J. Staudenmeier (R) - Chair
George F. Halcovage Jr. 
Gary J. Hess

Schuylkill County Officials:
Recorder of Deeds -- Ann Dudish

Prothonotary -- David J. Dutcavich

Register of Wills -- Theresa Santai Gaffney

Clerk of Courts -- Thomas Campion

County Coroner -- David J. Moylan

District Attorney -- Christine A. Holman

County Controller -- Christy D. Joy

Sheriff -- Joseph Groody 

Treasurer -- Jacqueline McGovern (R)

County Administrator -- Mark J. Scarbinsky

Schuylkill County Court of Common Pleas:
William Baldwin, President Judge
C. Palmer Dolbin, John E. Domalakes, James P. Goodman, Jacqueline L. Russell & Charles Miller


Pottsville City Government

Pottsville City Hall
401 N. Centre Street
Pottsville, PA  17901
Phone:  570-622-1234
Web:  www.city.pottsville.pa.us
Email:  contactus@city.pottsville.pa.us

Pottsville City Officials:
Mayor & Director of Public Affairs -- James T. Muldowney (D)

Councilman, Accounts & Finance -- Michael P. Halcovage (D)

Councilman, Streets & Public Improvements -- Dorothy L. Botto (D, appointed)

Councilman, Public Safety -- Mark Atkinson (D)

Councilman, Parks & Public Property -- Joseph Devine (D)

City Administrator -- Thomas A. Palamar

Treasurer -- Ellen Micka (D)

City Controller -- Brett Clark

City Clerk -- Julie D. Rescorla

Police Chief -- Richard Wojciechowsky

Health Officer -- Frank Spleen

City Solicitor -- Thomas J. Pellish, Esquire

Code Enforcement Officer -- Donald Chescavage

Fire Chief -- Todd March


The resources available on the Internet contain a wide variety of material from varied points of view. Access points often change rapidly and unpredictably. The Library cannot guarantee the accuracy and/or acceptability of the information you will find and cannot be responsible for its content. Library Internet users are individually responsible for the resources they access. As with all other library materials, parents must assume responsibility for their children's use of the Internet through the Library's connection.

Addresses and content were checked at the time of inclusion in this document. Due to the nature of Internet resources, however, the addresses may have changed or the sites may have been discontinued. If you experience any problems reaching any of these sites, please let us know so that we can change them on or remove them from our list.

Return to Index