POTTSVILLE FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY
Go to the search
page to find other regional information.
Things to Do and Places to Go in the Area
-
Coal
Mining, Mine Fires, and the Molly Maguires -- also has links to information about
the Centralia mine fire
-
Coal Region -- browse
through the CoalSpeak Dictionary for laughs, check out the recipes section for
boilo, city chicken or paska, or find out about some of the famous Coal
Crackers.
-
Eckley Miner's Village --
an original anthracite mining town, located nine miles east of Hazleton,
PA off Route 940; click on "Tour" for a virtual tour of various buildings
on the site
-
Hawk Mountain Sanctuary
-- check the daily "Hawk Count" during the migration periods, find out
where to take an injured raptor, and more information from this local organization

-
Kaier's Brewery --
Yuengling wasn't the only brewer in Schuylkill County! Check out this site
for a history of this brewery in Mahanoy City that closed in 1968, as well as
several photos.
-
Knoebels Amusement Resort --
located just outside of Schuylkill County, this is a popular summertime
destination for area residents; free admission, lots of rides, and lots
of food!
-
Pioneer Tunnel Anthracite Coal
Mine and Steam Train -- take a ride into a real coal mine, or ride
an old-fashioned narrow gauge steam train
-
Schuylkill County Council for
the Arts (SCCA) -- find out the monthly calendar of events, or click
on "About the Art Center" for information on their Seedlings Preschool,
Artist-in-Residence, Summer Art Classes, and the Yuengling Mansion
-
Schuylkill County Fair -- located
in Summit Station, the county fair takes place every summer; check out this site
for the live entertainment and daily schedules, plus fee information, animal
guidelines and more.
-
Schuylkill Navigation
Collection at the Reading Area Community College -- this site provides
large and small maps of the Schuylkill Canal as well as blueprints of canal
boats and other mechanical sketches; great for history reports!
-
Schuylkill County
Trails Directory -- did you know there are 24 walking trails in the county?
Trails are of various lengths and various difficulties, and some permit bikes or
dogs, so check the Trails Directory to find the perfect one for you!
- Sovereign Majestic Theater -- Located on Centre Street in downtown Pottsville, this renovated theater shows movies, puts on stage productions, and has a variety of other events throughout the year.
-
Wilbur Chocolate -- Pennsylvania's
"other" chocolate factory, home of the Buds; find out about their
museum or look for yummy chocolate recipes.
-
Yuengling Brewery -- learn the
history of America's Oldest Brewery, or find out the tour dates and hours
History and Historical Societies
See also the History
and Genealogy page for web sites concerning other genealogy
resources, or the Local History and Genealogy page
for information about Pottsville Library's Schuylkill County genealogy
collection.
-
Ashland Area
Historic Preservation Society -- town histories, church histories,
and area attractions
-
Historical Society
of Schuylkill County
-
Mahanoy
Area Historical Society -- this society covers the area for the Mahanoy Area
School District, which includes Mahanoy Township, Gilberton, Maizeville, St.
Nicholas, Wiggans, Delano, Barnesville, Park Place, and so forth. Meeting
times, membership information, minutes, and links of interest to historians and
genealogists alike.
-
Schuylkill
County Civil War Roundtable -- lots of information here about
the County in the Civil War
-
Schuylkill Haven History --
This site offers lots of photographs of Schuylkill Haven and a wide variety of
information about the borough and its history.
-
Schuylkill Historical Fire
Museum -- this museum is located in Shenandoah.
-
Greater Shenandoah Area
Historical Society -- serving Shenandoah, the Heights, and patches
surrounding the borough
Newspapers, Magazines, Radio and TV Stations Serving the Area
See also the Magazines
and Newspapers page for more newspapers and magazines.
Pottsville and Schuylkill County Associations and Government Agencies
For More Information:
-
Schuylkill County Visitors Bureau --
this site has a calendar of events, can suggest themed tours of the county, and
lists a huge number of things you can do in Schuylkill County.
Last updated July 30, 2012.
Arts
| Business
| Careers
| Consumer
Information | Education |
General
Reference & Searches |
Geography
& Travel | Government
| Government
Publications | Health
| History
& Genealogy | Magazines
& Newspapers | Regional
Information | Science
| Sports
& Fun
Stuff
GO
BACK TO HOME PAGE