National Animal Interest Alliance --
mission is "to promote a more abundant life for all the people
of this planet through a wise and compassionate human relationship with
animals and the environment."
Common Errors in English
Usage -- not really a dictionary, this list helps you avoid some of
the common mistakes people make when writing or speaking American English;
for example, learn the difference between "accede" and "exceed", or the
use of redundancies.
The Devil's Dictionary
-- if you prefer your definitions to be verbose and unusual, check out
this site which defines an auctioneer as "the man who proclaims with a
hammer that he has picked a pocket with his tongue." Based on a book first
published in 1906.
Wiktionary -- "a collaborative
project to produce a free, multilingual dictionary with definitions,
etymologies, pronunciations, sample quotations, synonyms, antonyms and
yourDictionary.com -- subject
dictionaries, foreign languages, thesauri and even a translation feature; also
has word games at the bottom of the home page
Britannica.com -- current news
topics as well as the expected encyclopedia; some parts may require subscription
The online Catholic Encyclopedia
-- a volunteer effort to put the original 1913 edition of the Catholic
Encyclopedia onto the internet
Encyclopedia.com -- a free online
encyclopedia with articles from reliable reference sources: covers over
100 encyclopedias and dictionaries!
Wikipedia -- a free online encyclopedia
with nearly 2 million entries in English and counting, usually with good links
to official information. Note that articles can be
written and edited by anyone, anywhere in the world: readers should verify
information by checking another source.
General Reference Materials
Bartleby Library -- Great Books
Online; find titles like a translation of The Odysseys of Homer, poetry
by T. S. Eliot and Robert Frost, a definition from a dictionary, a quote from
the King James Bible, or the complete Harvard Classics & Shelf of Fiction
Old Farmer's Almanac -- has only
some of the information available from the print edition; registration or
purchase may be required for some sections
The Straight Dope
-- Since 1973 Cecil Adams (and associates) have been answering the toughest
questions people can come up with, from the meaning of song lyrics to science to
food. Entertaining to read but less "urban fiction" oriented than Snopes.
The Writing Center at the
University of Wisconsin-Madison -- Not sure how to write your paper or cite your
sources? Guidelines for APA and MLA styles, how to write common types of
assignments, and how to improve your writing can all be found here.
Name, Address, and Telephone Directories
See also the Business page for other name and address
directories. Note that most directories take their listings from telephone
listings. Different directories will likely have different information,
and unlisted telephone numbers and addresses will probably not be found online.
pipl -- Search
by name, email address, or telephone number to find contact information and
social media accounts.
-- Free lookup by telephone number; private numbers may only appear in a
"People Pages" for options to do reverse searches by telephone
number or by address.
In addition to
the other standard search options, you can also search by toll free number.
-- Search by name or telephone number. Additional searches available for a
Yellow Book --
in addition to
the usual search options, you can also browse a specific directory (like
Allentown or Reading) for the business or type of business you seek; use the
"Results Found In" links to narrow your search.
About.com -- more than just a search
engine, this site is also an excellent subject guide to the internet; each
section is run by a "guide" who keeps on top of the latest news,
best sites, etc. for that particular subject
Ask.com -- What appears to be a very
basic search screen leads to options to expand or narrow your search.
Spelling corrections are made automatically when possible.
-- Getting concerned about how much information companies have about you?
DuckDuckGo provides fast internet searches without allowing sites and
other companies to track your search habits. For more tips, check out
their Don'tTrackUs page.
Google -- The
first search service most people use, although tracking causes a lot of
Ixquick Metasearch --
be the most powerful engine on the internet. Also claims to have strong
privacy controls to prevent tracking, read more on their Privacy
Yahoo -- excellent for looking up
companies and basic information; also a fairly good subject guide
Census Bureau -- Check here for fun
facts related to holidays; population data for the nation, states, counties and
cities; and economic statistics. Type in your zip code in the
"Population Finder" on the home page and find an entire fact sheet
about your community.
Statistics -- "National Transportation Statistics presents
statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components,
safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and
national security. This is a large online document comprising more than
260 data tables plus data source and accuracy statements, glossary and a list of
acronyms and initialisms."
-- a free site that offers statistics for countries, as well as the ability
to directly compare two countries
-- "a centralized collection of links to free, official sources" for
statistics, divided by country, region, and subject. From University of Auckland
Library (New Zealand).
Pennsylvania State Data Center PA
Stats-- a good place to start for general statistics related to