The Pottsville
Library was designated a Federal depository library
in 1967, and we provide access to both United States and Pennsylvania
agency publications in print and online. If you cannot find an agency or
publication, please contact us for
assistance! For popular online federal publications, go to the GOVERNMENT
PUBLICATIONS page on this site.
Search
for District Justices in Pennsylvania -- search by county, court number,
or view a list of all District Justices in the state; Schuylkill County
district justices are numbers 21-2-01 through 21-3-07
Attorney
directory from Martindale -- look for a lawyer by name, by area of practice, or by firm
Pennsylvania
Code Online -- official regulations and other documents, which have
the force of law
Frequently
Used Sites Related to U.S. Federal Government Information -- compiled by the
Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association
GovBenefits.gov
-- this site provides a way to search for federal benefits, including direct
payments, loans, insurance, training or other assistance. You can search
for specific programs, or answer questions about your situation to find all the
benefit programs you may be eligible to receive.
GPO Access
-- "Official Federal Government Information at Your Fingertips"; in particular,
check the Browse
Topics features for specific subject areas
Grants.gov --
excellent starting point for any organization seeking a federal grant! (Note: individuals should use the
GovBenefits.gov site, not the grants
page.)
Uncle
Sam -- provides easy access to titles published by the federal government
which are now only on the internet, as well as to federal websites of all
kinds
FactCheck.org -- How much of what you
hear during the campaigns is true? You might be surprised about the facts!
"The Annenberg Political Fact Check is a project of the Annenberg Public
Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. We are a nonpartisan,
nonprofit, 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of
deception and confusion in
U.S.
politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major
U.S.
political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and
news releases."
Opensecrets.org--
just about everything you wanted to know about politics and money, including
fundraising for presidential elections, the gender gap in funding, and
information on PACS and lobbyists; published by the Center for Responsive
Politics
The
American Presidency -- information about the presidents of the United
States with pictures and film clips, offered at various age-appropriate
levels; published by Grolier, an encyclopedia company
Ben's Guide
to U.S. Government for Kids -- grade-appropriate resources for kids to
understand more about the national government
Kids.gov -- "The
Official Kid's Portal for the U.S. Government"
League of Women Voters
-- an excellent source of information about candidates and their voting or
support records. Also check out the Pennsylvania
League for your area.
POTUS
-- Presidents of the United States; gives brief biographical information
for each president, the cabinet members and vice presidents, and sources
for online biographies; hosted by the Internet Public Library
Project Vote
Smart -- one of the best sites for education about the candidates and
for finding out how your representatives have been voting
Specific
agencies and other resources Note: the words "Dept.", "Bureau", and "U.S."
are not included in the alphabetization. For example, "US Supreme Court"
would be found under "Supreme" with the S's, rather than under "US" with
the U's.
Copyright
Office -- copyright basic information, fees, printable forms, and more
Core
Documents of U.S. Democracy -- "These titles
contain information which is vital to the democratic process and critical
to an informed electorate. They support the public's right to know about
the essential activities of their Government."
EDGAR
Database -- searchable database of company reports that have been filed
with the Securities and Exchange Commission; includes addresses and other
useful information
FCC -- Federal
Communications Commission; "charged with regulating interstate and international
communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable"
US Government Printing
Office -- one of the largest publishers in the U.S.; primary source for purchasing government publications;
great place to find online publications, too!
Dept.
of Homeland Security -- also be sure to check out the Ready.gov
web site for "simple things you can do now to prepare yourself and your
loved ones" in the event of a terrorist attack.
US Mint --
features consumer alerts about collectible coins, a history of the mint, and
resources for kids and teachers (and anyone else curious about coins!)
Regulations.gov -- use this site to
find, review and submit comments on Federal documents that are open for comment
and published in the Federal Register.
Securities
and Exchange Commission -- the regulatory agency for publicly traded
securities, investment firms and related firms and professionals
Attorney General's Office, Do
Not Call List -- guidelines on how to put your telephone number on
the "No Calls" list, and how telemarketers can get a copy of the list
Governor´s
Center for Local Government Services -- provided by the PA Dept. of
Community and Economic Development, this page provides information on county,
municipal and school district tax rates, as well as county and municipal
financial statistics going back to 1994, and a listing of local government
officials for every county in the state
United Nations
-- the organization responsible for peacekeeping world wide, as well as
addressing human rights, development, and international law issues
World
Fact Book -- similar information to Background Notes, in a much briefer
format, plus excellent flag section; published by the CIA
Yahoo's
List of Countries -- links to official government or other country-related
websites for countries around the world