Library was designated a Federal depository library
in 1967, and we provide access to both United States and Pennsylvania
agency publications in print and online. If you cannot find an agency or
publication, please contact us for
assistance! For popular online federal publications, go to the GOVERNMENT
PUBLICATIONS page on this site.
directory from Martindale -- look for a lawyer by name, by area of practice, or by firm
"Law and legal information for lawyers, students, business and the
public." Site explains legal practice areas, provides links for legal
research, and examines court cases that are in the news.
and Unconsolidated Statutes -- "This site provides free access to both
the consolidated and unconsolidated Purdonís Pennsylvania Statutes and
Constitution, as compiled and maintained by the editorial staff of Thomson/West,
and made available here in an unannotated version under agreement with the
Pennsylvania Legislative Reference Bureau." Please note that free
legal advice is not provided at this site. This collection is also
available in print in the Reference Department.
Public Library of Law
(PLoL) -- calling itself "the world's largest free law library," this
site provides access to US Supreme Court and state cases, federal and state
statutes (laws) and regulations, and other legal documents.
General resources, search services and basic starting
-- this site provides a way to search for federal benefits, including direct
payments, loans, insurance, training or other assistance. You can search
for specific programs, or answer questions about your situation to find all the
benefit programs you may be eligible to receive.
Catalog of U.S.
Goverment Publications (CGP) -- "the finding tool for federal
publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current
publications and provides direct links to those that are available online."
FedWorld -- a
search service for government-produced information, provided by the Department of Commerce
"Federal Digital System"; choose from one of the featured collections
like "Congressional Hearings", or click on "Browse
Collections" for a more complete list.
excellent starting point for any organization seeking a federal grant! (Note: individuals should use the
Benefits.gov site, not the grants
-- Information you need about insurance availability from the Affordable Care
FactCheck.org -- How much of what you
hear on the news is true? You might be surprised about the facts!
"The Annenberg Political Fact Check is a project of the Annenberg Public
Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. We are a nonpartisan,
nonprofit, 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of
deception and confusion in U.S.
politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S.
political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and
just about everything you wanted to know about politics and money, including
fundraising for presidential elections, the gender gap in funding, and
information on PACS and lobbyists; published by the Center for Responsive
to U.S. Government for Kids -- grade-appropriate resources for kids to
understand more about the national government
Kids.gov -- "The
Official Kid's Portal for the U.S. Government"
-- Presidents of the United States; gives brief biographical information
for each president, the cabinet members and vice presidents, and sources
for online biographies; hosted by the Internet Public Library
Smart -- one of the best sites for education about the candidates and
for finding out how your representatives have been voting
agencies and other resources Note: the words "Dept.", "Bureau", and "U.S."
are not included in the alphabetization. For example, "US Supreme Court"
would be found under "Supreme" with the S's, rather than under "US" with
-- US Citizenship and Immigration Services (formerly INS)
Financial Protection Bureau -- "Our mission is to make markets for
consumer financial products and services work for Americans ó whether they are
applying for a mortgage, choosing among credit cards, or using any number of
other consumer financial products."
Office -- copyright basic information, fees, forms, and more; note that
forms must be filled out before being printed, blank forms are no longer
Documents of U.S. Democracy -- "These titles
contain information which is vital to the democratic process and critical
to an informed electorate. They support the public's right to know about
the essential activities of their Government."
Center for Local Government Services -- provided by the PA Dept. of
Community and Economic Development, this page provides information on county,
municipal and school district tax rates, as well as county and municipal
financial statistics going back to 1994, and a listing of local government
officials for every county in the state